Staying in the loop when it comes to marijuana laws can be a bit overwhelming. We do our absolute best to bring you the most recent information on the Connecticut Marijuana Laws all in one place. Learn more below!
No Vote On Cannabis in 2019; Though Legislative Leaders and Governor Both Support Ending Prohibition
In early of 2019, bills were advanced by three different legislative committees to legalize, tax, and regulate cannabis, but unfortunately with the legislature adjourning June 5, the vote never happened.
Just days before the session ending, Sacred Heart University and the Hartford Courant published a poll. Once again, this poll confirmed that residents of Connecticut are in strong support of expunging records for low-level cannabis offenders, and the legalization of marijuana.
It can be disappointing when opponents of well thought out policies for cannabis can step in and delay progress. I wouldn’t worry too much Connecticut, your governor Ned Lamont has made it pretty clear that he supports regulating and legalizing cannabis. It’s only a matter of time before the bills are passed.
Medical Cannabis Program
June 1, 2012 is when the medical marijuana program in Connecticut originally came to be. This medical program protects patients and caregivers from being arrested, as long as they have a valid medical card, and their marijuana was purchased from a designated dispensary in which the patient is registered at.
2016 is when lawmakers and regulators expanded the medical cannabis program in Connecticut.
Jan 2016, three additional dispensaries were approved by the Department of Consumer Protection. Then, in 2018, the DCP approved an additional 9 dispensaries, bringing the total to 18 statewide. If you would like more information on qualifying symptoms or conditions, you can learn more about the program here!
Even though the medical program is up and running, the cannabis laws are still a bit limited. One of the biggest concerns was chronic pain, and how it should be added to the list of qualify conditions. Stay tuned for more information on the progress of this bill.
In Connecticut, the possession of a half-ounce or less of cannabis is considered a civil violation, which is punishable by paying $150 in fines, meaning you won’t go to jail. If multiple offenses occur, you could face fines up to $500, and required to take a drug awareness course. If you are under 21 and found with less than a half ounce of marijuana, you could face a suspension of your license for 60 days.
Stay tuned for more information on Connecticut state laws in the near future!