Kansas Marijuana Laws

Each year the cannabis laws in each state are changing, and it can be hard to stay in the loop. We wanted to make things simple, so we put together the following information on updates to the Kansas Marijuana Laws. Learn more below!

Status: Illegal

Decriminalized: No

Medical: No

Momentum Grows For Medical Marijuana

Medical marijuana was legalized by Missouri in November of 2018. With Kansas being surrounded by states that have either medical marijuana programs, or recreational, it’s only a matter of time. The new governor Kelly seems to be on board for medical cannabis, so we could see changes in the near future.

CBD with Zero THC Passes in Kansas

Kansas finally passed a law in 2018, acknowledging that cannabis could have medical benefits to interstate patients. This would leave Idaho as the last remaining state in the union to pass medical marijuana.

SB-282 was signed by the former governor Colyer in May of 2018. This would redefine marijuana to exclude CBD or cannabidiol. The state law would ban THC, meaning that patients would have a hard time finding products, considering most CBD has small traces of THC. While you can find CBD online and in stores, the products you see are typically unregulated. Be careful when ordering CBD online, and always ask for third party testing, and informative labels.

Despite the law being limited, it is a huge step forward for Kansas. Hopefully, in the near future, Kansas will take a step forward towards tested and regulated medical cannabis. This way patents with serious conditions can take advantage of all the benefits that CBD and THC can provide.

Bill Passed in 2016/17 to Reduce Penalties for Possession of Paraphernalia and Marijuana

Kansas Legislature passed HB-2462, during the session of 2016, which took effect in July. This bill reduced charges for first-time cannabis possession by half, which was one year, now 6 months jail time. The second offenders would be slapped with a misdemeanor, and possibly 1 year in jail.

In 2017, a bill for minor penalty reduction (SB-112) was passed and took effect in May. This bill would reduce the penalty for the possession of cannabis paraphernalia ( grow lights, bowls, bongs). If caught trying to grow 5 or less plants the charges are now 6 months jail time, and a $1000 fine. This does not impact the charges for growing marijuana, which is a completely separate crime.

Stay tuned for more updates on the Kansas Marijuana Laws!

Learn more state laws

Continue reading

Iowa marijuana laws

Maine marijuana laws

Delaware Marijuana Laws

CBD Oil for Inflammation: A Beginners Guide

Montana Marijuana Laws

Vermont Marijuana Laws