Louisiana Marijuana Laws

With updates to the marijuana laws changing from state to state each year, it can be difficult to keep up. We put all of the most recent and important information on the Louisiana Marijuana laws in one place. Continue reading to learn more about the recent law changes.

Status: Mixed

Decriminalized: No

Medical: Yes

Medical Cannabis Sales in Louisiana Starts; Patients Deserve Better

After a long wait, the sales for medical cannabis began in August of 2019. As of now, there are only two licensed growers (Southern University, and Louisiana State University), and only one of the two (LSU) has harvested. In addition, Louisiana authorized nine different dispensaries to distribute medical cannabis.

The nine dispensaries in Louisiana are:

Capitol Wellness Solutions: Baton Rouge

H&W Drug Store: New Orleans

The Apothecary Shoppe: Lafayette

Green Leaf Dispensary: Houma

Hope Pharmacy: Shreveport

Willow Pharmacy: Madisonville

Delta Medmar: West Monroe

Medicis: Lake Charles

The Medicine Cabinet Pharmacy: Alexandria

Even though these retail locations are considered pharmacies under Louisiana state law, they are closer to dispensaries than your standard CVS. These dispensaries do not have the DEA registration required to sell those well known prescription drugs.

Recently, Louisiana restricted the use of some forms of cannabis including the flower (whole plant) and smoking. HB-358 was approved in early 2019, which allows marijuana to be vaped using an inhaler that is metered for dosing. Sure, this seems like a step in the right direction, but ultimately, each patient/doctor should have more options for consuming cannabis.

In order to qualify for the Louisiana medical cannabis program, you must have one of the following conditions: Chronic Pain, AIDS/HIV, Glaucoma, Cancer, PTSD, Muscle Spasms, Parkinson’s Disease, MS, Muscular Dystrophy, Wasting/Cachexia Syndrome, Seizures, and Autism Spectrum Disorders.

New Orleans Decriminalizes Marijuana

In 2016, the city council of New Orleans passed an ordinance to decriminalize the possession of cannabis in the city. The mayor at the time Mitch Landrieu signed the ordinance into law, and it officially took effect in June of 2016.

The Ordinance (31-148) allows police officers to issue tickets, rather than arresting those possessing cannabis. It also reduces the sentences to a $40-$100 fine, and won’t land you in jail.

Louisiana Cannabis Laws are Harsh

If you take a look at all of the charges you could get in other states for possessing marijuana, they may not be as bad as Louisiana. If you happen to get caught with a single joint for the first time, you could find yourself in jail for 6 months!

Stay tuned for more updates on the Louisiana Marijuana Laws!

Learn more state laws

Continue reading

Iowa marijuana laws

Maine marijuana laws

Delaware Marijuana Laws

CBD Oil for Inflammation: A Beginners Guide

Montana Marijuana Laws

Vermont Marijuana Laws