Missouri Marijuana Laws

Updates to marijuana laws change each year in every state, and it can be difficult to stay in the loop. We want to make things easy for you, so we put together all the recent updates on the Missouri Marijuana Laws in one place for you! Below are the current laws on cannabis in the state of Missouri.

Status: Mixed

Decriminalized: Reduced

Medical: Yes

Rules For Medical Program Adopted; Patients Can Now Apply

In 2018, Missouri voters approved Amendment 2, which would protect medical marijuana patients with serious health conditions.

The Department of Health and Senior Services in Missouri has finally posted its rules in order to regulate the state medical cannabis program.

Now residents have access to the form in order to register as a marijuana patient, which regulators are now accepting.

Now, in 2019, more than 500 applications for medical cannabis businesses were already filled out, which generated almost 4 million in revenue for the state of Missouri.

More applications for businesses will be excepted later this year, meaning Missouri has until December 31st to determine which applicants will get approved.

According to the law, Missouri must offer licensing to 192 dispensaries, 60 cultivators, and 86 processing plants throughout the state.

Amendment 2 Approved in Missouri

2018 election day brought about the beginning of the medical marijuana program in Missouri. Three different initiatives were proposed for the medical marijuana ballot, which are listed below.

Amendment 2 – Passed with a 65.5% Yes and a 34.5% No

Proposition 3 – Did not pass with a 68.8% No and a 31.4% Yes

Proposition C – Did not pass with a 56.5% No and a 43.5% Yes

Thanks to national organizations and cannabis advocates, Amendment 2 passed, allowing patients in Missouri to access medical cannabis, which will soon be finalized in the state constitution.

The Amendment 2 officially took effect December of 2018. With approval from your personal doctor, you may now register and qualify as a patient in the medical marijuana program, as long as you have one of the following medical conditions:

  • Epilepsy
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • MS
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Tourette’s Syndrome
  • PTSD
  • Hepatitis C
  • Terminal Illnesses
  • Autism
  • Huntington’s Disease
  • Wasting Syndrome
  • Sickle Cell Anemia
  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Migraines unaffected by other treatments
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Cachexia

You may be permitted to cultivate your own marijuana with a cultivation card provided by the state. If applied for and approved, you may grow up to 6 plants for personal use.

Current Laws on Marijuana in Missouri

Medical Cannabis For Registered Patients is Legal: Amendment 2 was approved by voters to establish a medical cannabis program.

Marijuana Decriminalized: In 2014 legislation approved the decriminalization of marijuana up to 10 grams or less. The offense is considered a misdemeanor, and punishable by a fine. Any more than 10 grams could land you in jail.

Cultivation of Cannabis is still Illegal for non-patients: If you are caught cultivating less than 35 grams, you could find yourself with a Class E felony.

This would land you in jail for up to 4 years, and a fine up to $10,000. If caught cultivating more than 35 grams, you could be sentenced to 10 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.

Stay tuned for more updates on the Missouri Marijuana Laws!

Learn more state laws

Continue reading

Iowa marijuana laws

Maine marijuana laws

Delaware Marijuana Laws

CBD Oil for Inflammation: A Beginners Guide

Montana Marijuana Laws

Vermont Marijuana Laws