We understand that the laws on marijuana are changing each year. It may be hard to keep up with all of the updates on your state laws. We want to make things easy for you! We put together all of the recent changes to the North Dakota Marijuana Laws below. Take a look!
North Dakota Eliminates Jail Time for Small Amounts of Marijuana
House Bill 1050 was recently signed by North Dakota governor Doug Burgum. This bill will remove jail time for those caught possessing less than a half ounce of marijuana.
This bill came from a committee made up of Senate and House members from the North Dakota state legislature.
The new law will officially go into effect in August of 2019. The new law will classify possession of up to a half ounce as a civil infraction, and could cost you upwards of $1000.
Before the new law, possession was considered a misdemeanor, landed you in jail for 30 days, and a $1000 fine.
The new bill also reclassifies possession penalties of more than a half ounce, and calls on the Legislature to perform studies on the legalization of marijuana for adults. Even though the bill is far from perfect, it still shows North Dakota progressing forward.
Dispensaries Opening for Medical Marijuana
In March of 2019, the first dispensary licensed by the state was opened in North Dakota. Furthermore, 3 more dispensaries are projected to start sales very soon. As of now, state law permits 2 cultivation centers, and 8 dispensaries to be opened.
In 2018, North Dakota marijuana advocates took a defeat when voters squashed measure 2. This bill would have legalized marijuana for adults, and extinguished any prior convictions associated with marijuana. Now North Dakota looks forward to 2020 in order to eliminate prohibition on marijuana for good.
Stay tuned for more updates and changes to the North Dakota Marijuana Laws!
Leave A Comment