With laws on marijuana changing every year it can be difficult to navigate through all of the legalities. We wanted to make things simple, so we put together the most recent updates on the Ohio Marijuana Laws in one place. Learn more below!
Medical Marijuana Program Grows in Ohio
In early of 2019, the very first medical dispensary licensed by the state of Ohio officially opened. The number of care centers are also continuing to increase.
The medical marijuana law was approved back in 2016, but implementing the program has been a long and slow progress with usual delays.
The good news is the Ohio program continues to grow, and furthermore, more than 31,000 patients have signed up for program since applications opened last year.
In June, the Medical Board in Ohio postponed the vote to allow anxiety disorders, and autism on the list of qualifying conditions for medial cannabis. Hopefully in the near future, we could see the qualifying condition list expand in the state of Ohio.
Current Ohio Marijuana Laws
If you are not a registered patient in the state of Ohio, possession of one hundred grams or less, passing twenty grams or less to another person, or growing 100 grams or less of cannabis are all considered misdemeanors.
These offenses are usually accompanied by a $150 fine, but won’t land you in jail. Depending on the situation, the person’s drivers license could be suspended anywhere between 6 months to 5 years.
Recently, Ohio added Cincinnati to the decriminalization list of cities. Cincinnati will no longer arrest patrons for marijuana possession.
With Marijuana spreading like wildfire across America it’s only a matter of time before Ohio puts an end to prohibition.
Hopefully, we will see a significant move in the right direction to establish a sensible legalization system.
Stay tuned for more updates on the Ohio Marijuana Laws!
Leave A Comment