Rhode Island Marijuana Laws

Marijuana laws are changing every year from state to state. We know it can be difficult navigating through laws, so we put together this short article on the most recent updates to the Rhode Island Marijuana Laws. Take a closer look below!

Status: Mixed

Decriminalized: Reduced

Medical: Yes

Compassion Centers Triple After Governor Raymond Signs Budget Law

After the session adjourned in June of 2019, the governor signed FY-2020 into law. Beyond other changes to the already existing hemp and marijuana laws, the final version included text that would create 6 additional marijuana compassion centers, which would produce and sell medical marijuana.

In January of 2019, the governor had unveiled a bill that would legalize, tax, and regulate marijuana for adults 21 and older.

Despite the positivity coming from Rhode Island citizens, the Democratic House removed the legalization from the bill.

Beyond those topics just discussed, there has been other conversations brewing in the Rhode Island legislature.

Those impacted by marijuana prohibition, home cultivation fro medical patients, and fairness within the marijuana marketplace were all discussed in the General Assembly this year.

Though many advocates are discouraged with this years legislative session, the topic of marijuana being legalized is going to be talked about in the foreseeable future.

With marijuana markets booming in nearby states, Rhode Island is sure to make their move to legalization sooner than later. Expect to see changes early next year.

Rhode Island Current Marijuana Laws

Possessing small amounts of cannabis is currently decriminalized. If caught with an ounce or less of marijuana, you could be fined up to $150, which is considered a civil citation. These fines could increase if you fail to pay the fine within a timely manner.

If charged with possession 3 times within 18 months, you could end up with a misdemeanor. If you are under 18 and caught with marijuana, you are required to appear in family court, and will be evaluated for the misuse of substances, along with paying $150.

Medical Marijuana is Legal: You may register for Rhode Islands medical cannabis program, as long as your doctor verifies that you suffer from one of the following conditions:

  • PTSD
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV
  • AIDS
  • Hepatitis C
  • Autism

Debilitation diseases such as:

  • Chronic Pain
  • Wasting or Cachexia
  • Seizures
  • Severe Nausea
  • Muscle Spasms
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Alzheimer’s Disease

If you are registered as a patient in Rhode Island, you have the option to cultivate up to 12 mature flowering plants, and 12 non-flowering plants, as long as they have tags from the Department of Business Regulations.

If you aren’t into growing your own, you can purchase your marijuana from the 3 established dispensaries, or appoint a caregiver to grown your medical marijuana.

Stay tuned for more updates to the Rhode Island Marijuana Laws in the near future!

Learn more state laws

Continue reading

Iowa marijuana laws

Maine marijuana laws

Delaware Marijuana Laws

CBD Oil for Inflammation: A Beginners Guide

Montana Marijuana Laws

Vermont Marijuana Laws